News and Information about the nonprofit sector in Massachusetts. Check back frequently to keep informed.
June 26, 2022
Nonprofit Leaders Among Most Powerful in Central Mass.

May 29, 2020 — Eighteen nonprofit leaders earlier this week were named among the 50 most powerful leaders in central Massachusetts, people who wield influence in the region's economy, according to a newly published report.

The Worcester Business Journal's "annual Power 50 issue gives us an opportunity to really examine who wields influence in the Central Massachusetts economy, understand who is making power moves and their reasoning for doing so," the publication noted.

It added that "by understanding who is exerting their influence, we can see how the region is being shaped now and for the future."

Among the top most influential leaders were the following:

  • Kola A. Akindele, assistant vice chancellor for city & community relations, UMass Medical School
  • Rev. Philip L. Boroughs, president, College of the Holy Cross
  • Christine Cassidy chief communications officer, Fallon Health
  • Linda Cavaioli, executive director, YWCA Central Massachusetts
  • Michael F. Collins, chancellor, UMass Medical School
  • Eric W. Dickson, president and CEO, UMass Memorial Health Care
  • Juliet Feibel, executive director, ArtsWorcester
  • Barbara G. Fields, board chair, Greater Worcester Community Foundation
  • Pattie Hallberg, CEO, Girl Scouts of Central & Western Massachusetts
  • Meredith Harris, executive director, Marlborough Economic Development Corp.
  • Michelle Jones-Johnson, vice president for talent and inclusion, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • David A. Jordan, DHA president, Seven Hills Foundation & Affiliates
  • Laurie Leshin, president, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Luis G. Pedraja, president, Quinsigamond Community College
  • Anh Vu Sawyer, executive director, Southeast Asian Coalition of Central Massachusetts
  • Carolyn J. Stempler, president, Greater Worcester Community Foundation
  • Vincent Strully founder and CEO, New England Center for Children
  • Monica M. Thomas-Bonnick, executive director, Webster Five Foundation

Seven of this year's honorees from the nonprofit sector previously have been on the list, first introduced in 2013. They include Boroughs, Collins, Dickson, Harris, Jordan, Leshin, and Pedraja.

SUBSCRIBE FREE – Keep current with the Wednesday Report emailed to you free each week. Click here.
Got news, advice, resources? Send it to